Maintenance for the week of March 25:
• [COMPLETE] Xbox: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – March 26, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• [COMPLETE] PlayStation®: NA and EU megaservers for patch maintenance – March 26, 6:00AM EDT (10:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)
• ESO Store and Account System for maintenance – March 28, 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC) - 12:00PM EDT (16:00 UTC)

Fatal Game Breaking Error

theharven
theharven
✭✭✭
So I was just questing around Hoarfrosts Downs, Rivenspire when this error appeard from nowhere:
A7NeRSZ.png

Since I'm an addon author (btw. here are my addons) and I know what some of this gibber means I decided to investigate it a little (we call it debugging). It says it's "Game Breaking" so I had to be careful not to break my game.

At first I noticed "Animal" and "Cow" words in the message so it had to be somehow related to cows in this area. There were at least 5 cows so I started to observe randomly chosen one. Before I begun I searched the deepest corners of the internet for some cows reference manuals or RFCs. I found this one, it's pretty accurate imho: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JmRUq1bWyPo

Here is me observing randomly chosen cow:
ZqbgpE9.png

The cow stands there and pretends to be eating grass (because as you can see there is only mud around). The message says something about some output device. First thought is a snout (it's more like input not output device in case of cows). But the cow had a snout, although it didn't make any sound (refer to the RFC above). I suppose it's a silent cow, stealth one.

So I proceeded to closer inspection.

Here is me doing closer inspection. In the rain. At night:
q0rm889.png

It struck me like a thunder when I noticed there was NO MILK OUTPUT DEVICE underneath! So that was it! But you can never be too careful so I undertook few other steps.

Step one - make sure it's a cow.
The game could display wrong animal name. I quickly made this simple script: